When You (Or a Loved One) May be Entering a Nursing Home…

December 1, 2009

If you, a spouse, or parent  think that you may need the services of a nursing home in the near future, you should know that there are some things you can do to plan for this possibility and help maintain some of the person’s assets.

Nursing homes can be very expensive. Residing on one can deplete $9,000 to $12,000 per month from one’s assets on a monthly basis. You can apply for Medicaid to assist with these bills, but they will only begin paying once the person has completely “spent down” their assets to$13,800 (in 2009) altogether.

There are steps that you can take which would allow you to preserve much of your assets for the next generation while still qualifying for Medicaid if and when nursing home services are needed.

When an individual applies for Medicaid, and the Department of Social Services is looking into whether the application has indeed depleted his or her assets down to almost nothing, they actually look up to five years prior to the application date to see if the person made any transfers to children or others in order to preserve their assets from Medicaid’s required “spend down” to poverty.

Elder law attorneys, such as the experienced lawyers at  The Law Office of Elliot Schlissel, can assist individuals in applying for Medicaid or, for instance, setting up an Irrevocable Trust that may allow a senior to preserve his or her assets from Medicaid’s “spend down” requirement throughout their lives.

We can personalize these trusts depending on each individuals circumstances.

For instance,  if someone has owned their home for a long time, such that the house has increased in value by $250,000 for individuals or $500,000 for married couples, and if the Irrevocable Trust does not appropriately deal with this increased equity in the residence, there can be significant tax liability when the house is sold.

Regardless of whether you need an Elder Law attorney to prepare a Medicaid application or create any other kind of Medicaid plan, you can contact our offices at 800-344-6431 or e-mail us with any questions or to set up a free consultation.

Picture courtesy of injuryboard.com.

10 Responses to “When You (Or a Loved One) May be Entering a Nursing Home…”


  1. […] 4, 2009 On Tuesday, this blog featured an article about what seniors can do to qualify for Medicaid if they forsee the need for nursing home […]


  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and may come back down the road. I want to encourage one to continue your great work, have a nice evening!


  3. I love what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my own blogroll.


  4. I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also visit this blog on regular basis to get updated from most recent gossip.

  5. Islandia Says:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that
    it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  6. islandia Says:

    Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

  7. Islandia Says:

    I take pleasure in, lead to I discovered just
    what I used to be looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye


  8. Wow, this post is nice, my sister is analyzing these things, thus
    I am going to tell her.


  9. My family members every time say that I am wasting my time here at web, however I know I am
    getting know-how everyday by reading thes fastidious articles.


  10. […] Tuesday, this blog featured an article about what seniors can do to qualify for Medicaid if they forsee the need for nursing home services […]


Leave a Reply

