Father’s Rights Attorneys

November 30, 2009

There is a growing feeling among fathers who deal with the Family Courts and the Supreme Courts in the State of New York on matrimonial and family law matters that they are being treated unfairly. The law in the State of New York says that fathers and mothers have equal rights to custody. There is no presumption that mothers should receive custody and fathers should pay child support. However, many fathers who have dealt with the legal system come away with a sour taste in their mouth due to bias in favor of the mother.

Father’s rights attorneys are matrimonial and family law attorneys with extensive experience in protecting the rights of fathers involved with custody, support and visitation matters. If you feel you are being treated unfairly, contact the father’s rights attorneys at the Law Office of Elliot S. Schlissel. We can help you!

-Elliot S. Schlissel, Esq.

800-344-6431

Picture Courtesy of SouthWesternDifference.info

14 Responses to “Father’s Rights Attorneys”


  1. I have seen several cases recently where mom remarried and a child makes abuse allegations against their step-father years and years later. Mom does not believe the allegations and blames biological father for coaching the child. I clearly want to recommend evaluating mom for her lack of support for the alleged victim (her child) in such cases. However, my colleagues have suggested that I treat these cases like divorce/custody cases and evaluate the biological father as well despite the absence of a history of parental risk on his part and the fact that the case came in from CPS (abuse maltreatment)and not an attorney looking for a divorce custody or bonding report. Of course forensic psychologists must make such considerations on a case by case basis; however, the above captures the struggle of fathers who are often caught between a rock (supporting their child’s disclosure and being accused of coaching) and a hard place (not supporting their child’s disclosure 100%).


  2. The investigation of an innocent father by CPS or other organizations changes the father’s relationship with his children. The father becomes anxious and nervous when have physical contact with his children.

  3. Mike C. Says:

    The worst is when the father is the victim of domestic abuse. I’ve seen far too often where the father is the victim of violence by the mother of the child, yet the police and courts just brush it off because he’s a man. However, if the mother makes the slightest allegation of violence, no matter how unsupported by any physical evidence, the Courts appear very inclined to issue a full order of protection where the man is thrown out of the house on a moment’s notice and is forced to stay away from the mother and his children. I’ve even seen where the father has receive an order of protection from the family court, and days later the mother makes an allegation of domestic violence with the police. Now the father is arrested on a criminal matter, the criminal court issues the woman an order of protection, and the father not only has his case pending in family court, but also has to defend himself in criminal court.


  4. I have represented numerous men who had bogus domestic violence matters pending in both the family court and the criminal court.

  5. joesph gonzalez Says:

    my girl what me to sing over right to my litte girl but i dont know what to do about it. i need help on this plz. i like to would about thit i can do i in court now but get dna test but she what me to stop it
    all


  6. Call Elliot Schlissel, Esq at 1 800 344 6431

  7. arthur d. Says:

    I currently have custody of my two sons from their mother whom are only 2 of her 6 children. I was granted custody by default and because a court ordered pych evaluation was done and placed them in being in better care with me. we (the biological mother and I)have had domestic issues in the past but we have not been together in 5 years and I have since gotten married and started a family with my wife and children.We have already been to court several times and the children have had 3 different law guardians and advised 2 of them (1 is pending case just started) that they have no desire to go back home with their biological mother.The children are doing very well in the placement of our home and family. we feel that the biological mother is harassing our family by filing false cps claims and numerous and repeatative petitions through the courts within months of last court dates. also there is a court order that she is not allowed to file any petitions without court permission as due to prior abuse of the court system. the court is refusing to honor this and any prior court orders without me having counsel. my wife suggested to get a fathers rights lawyer but there are none in my area where we live. what should we do as a next course of action and is there any advice or lawyers you know in our area to assist us?


  8. Where do you live and in what Family Court is your case pending in?

  9. Philip Rumble Says:

    Hello,
    I have been fighting in the court for the past 3 years for my daughter. My daughter is the oldest turning 9 in a few days of 8 children. There have been so many abuse neglect charges filed. The children were even removed from her house when she left them home alone when my daughter was 5 and she stated to CPS and police that she was the baby sitter. I feel I am constantly being slammed by the judge. We go threw Genesee County family court. I live in Florida which i know makes it harder. But i moved because i am in the police academy here. My daughter is with me on all vacation and the whole summer. I only moved this past year before that i had her every weekend. It feels to me that no matter what her mother does they put her right back in her house. My daughter has even stated to her court appointed guardian that she wants to live with me and my fiancee. I was only 15 when she was born and her mother was 20. My fiancee and I have no other children not for a couple more years since were still young. Not just recently i found proof of her selling controlled substances. She also has my daughter on ADHD medicine which has come up missing many times and her saying she lost it. I need some help cause my daughter is doing terrible in school, very unhappy and her behavior is getting worse and worse.

  10. ART DANIELS Says:

    I POSTED SOMETHING ON 12/30/09 AT 10:26 AM.THE RESPONSE I GET TO MY POST WAS WHERE DO YOU LIVE AND WHAT COURT ARE YOU IN. I LIVE IN BUFFALO N,Y AND MY CASE IS IN ERIE COUNTY FAMILY COURT. DON’T HAVE ALOT OF MONEY AND REALY NEED SOME HELP. I JUST WANT ALL THE CRAP TO STOP. I WAS CONTACTED BY A LAWYER BUT THE RATE HE GAVE ME WAS UPWARDS OF $1000. I JUST DON’T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY. I WAS LAID OFF, MY WIFE IS OUT OF WORK ON FMLA TIME BECAUSE OF A HIGH RISK PREGNANCY, AND WE HAVE 4 OTHER CHILDREN IN THE HOUSE.MY NEXT COURT DATE IS 1/19/10.

  11. Irena Holder Says:

    My son just went to child support court, and was told that he hsa to pay over $100.00 a week to the mother of his daughter. I know he should share the responsibility of raising his daughter, but he took care of his daughter while the mother finished high school. My son also worked 3rd shift to help take care of his daughter while the mother went to college to get her degree. My son lived with the mother for almost 3yrs, and I don’t understand why he can’t have custody of his daughter, and the mother made to pay child support.In my opinion, mothers get by with not having the child in their care very much, but can still rip the benefits of getting child support and other perks. This mother doesn’t nor ever had sole custody, because my granddaughter is not with her mom the majority of the time. My son goes to the daycare his daughter goes to, and check up on how she’s doing, but teachers state that the mom just drops our granddaughter off and pick her up, not really caring what’s going on with her. Also, my granddaughter has been showing bad behavior at the daycare because her mom failed to let her see her daddy (my son). I pray that one day my son will have sole custody of his daughter. What do you suggest that he do in this whole case?


  12. In order to get custody you need to bring a custody proceeding. We can do this for your son. Elliot Schlissel. Esq 1 800 344 6431

  13. John G. Says:

    My 2 1/2 yr old son is currently residing in Buffalo Ny with his mother (we were never married)and I still live in NC. She moved home to NY to live with her parents as soon as she found out she was pregnant (she is 35). I have sent her $400 a month since he was born with no court order. She continues to live with her parents and not work and she has now filed for more $. I am remarried with a beautiful 7 month old daughter and my wife and i would like to have him for part of the year so he can have a family and spend time with his sister. We need help and advise! Thanks.

  14. michael miller Says:

    I have a son. His mother and I were never married. Things got so crazy with her and her family that my son and I haven’t seen one another in years. Our current agreement does not include college. I have paid child support religiously. Now she is trying to have the court force me to pay college for a child I do not even know anymore. Isn’t this unconstitutional since married couples wouldnt be forced to pay for college?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

